Author Topic: Engineering vs. Education  (Read 4217 times)

mwatrous

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Engineering vs. Education
« on: May 08, 2019, 02:32:15 PM »
Engineers and Teachers, would you recommend your job or field? Why or why not?

Hi everyone, my name is Max and I've been a passive reader of MMM for a while, but I wanted turn a question over to the forums for some advice.

I'm graduating next May from CU Boulder with a degree in both mechanical engineering and secondary physics education, and I'm having trouble deciding where to start my career. While I am a technically proficient engineering student, my passion is working with people, and I have always loved learning.

Teaching:
I taught many classes in middle school, highschool and college, and despite the grading, I have always enjoyed being an educator. However, while the summers seem really nice, my Mom is a 5th grade teacher and talks about how teachers tend to be payed very little, overworked and pushed around by students, parents and the administration. With the starting salary being 39k in CO, I figure both my SO and I could reach FIRE in approximately 10-12 years.

Engineering:
Engineering would have a much higher starting salary, with an average of 60k in the CO area. Keeping my expenses the same it means I could be FI in 7-8 years! This number is very important to me because I would like to reach FI before having kids (both my SO and I are 23). In addition, some engineers I have spoken with say that the work/life balance is better in engineering, the job is less stressful than college, and that they enjoy the people they work with. However, I really enjoy helping people, and engineering industry often seems the opposite of service oriented.

So I wanted to turn it over to the teachers and the engineers in the forums:

Do you feel like your job provides meaning?
What are the best and worst parts of your job?
Work/life balance?
What would your ideal career be?