Author Topic: Electric slow cooker - worth it?  (Read 19453 times)

ZiziPB

• Magnum Stache
Electric slow cooker - worth it?
« on: September 25, 2013, 11:35:09 AM »
I've been debating purchasing a slow cooker for a couple of years now.  It's not so much the money as whether I would use it and whether it would work better for me than my current cooking methods.  I like cooking, am a competent cook and often cook stews, chilis, roasts....  I am single but usually cook in large batches that I portion and freeze or I have lots of leftovers. The vast majority of my cooking is done on weekends when I'm home.  Then during the week I just reheat my leftovers and supplement with steamed veggies and starches, if needed.  I typically use a large cast iron enamel dutch oven which I love because I can brown in it and then slow simmer without switching to a different pot.  I also often use a large roasting pan in the oven.  My oven and cooktop are gas.  If I want to bake or broil a small portion of something (2-3 servings of fish, for example), I use a small electric toaster oven instead of the large gas oven.   Just to give you a sense of what I typically make:  last weekend I made roasted chicken thighs with lemon, thyme, shallots and garlic (yum!) served with buckwheat and steamed broccoli.  I also grilled some chicken breasts to add to my lunch salads this week.  In the freezer I have several containers of lentil stew, traditional chili, lentil soup and zucchini/tomato/sausage dish.  This weekend I am planning to make chicken with mushrooms and cream sauce (good with rice or egg noodles and steamed veggies) and roasted chicken thighs with vegetables (onions, potatoes, carrots, squash, etc.).