Author Topic: Easy question on getting out of debt, need your advice  (Read 3710 times)

jostreet

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Easy question on getting out of debt, need your advice
« on: December 02, 2015, 10:30:20 AM »
I'm a graduate student making 20k per year and my spouse makes 70k. We have $19,500 in federal student loan debt (and that's it) that we are quickly trying to pay down. We've currently been paying 2k per month on these loans and believe that we can have it paid in full within five months if we dip into our emergency fund. Our emergency fund is right at 20k in a low interest savings acct.

However, as I get closer to paying it down I can feel the burn. I see two options: I can continue to pay 2k per month until we can pay about the last 7k using our savings acct in about five months or I can place our entire saving on the debt and be completely debt free. This seems like a simple question.

Please feel free to share your opinion and reasoning for why you would do what you suggest.

Thanks.
« Last Edit: December 02, 2015, 10:33:25 AM by jostreet »

GizmoTX

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Easy question on getting out of debt, need your advice
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2015, 10:34:35 AM »
What % are you paying in interest on the debt?

jostreet

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2015, 10:37:31 AM »
Currently, 10k of these loans are subsidized with interest at 4.5% that is in deferment until I finish school and the rest (9.5k) are unsubsidized at 6.8% that has been accruing, although I have the interest paid down.

BigHaus89

• Stubble
  • Ride the Spiral to the End
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2015, 10:37:39 AM »
It depends on what you're comfortable with. I personally would use the savings to pay the debt off and then contribute $2k a month to build savings back up. If your income situation is stable, I don't see much risk in doing this.

nereo

• Senior Mustachian
    • Here's how you can support science today: