Author Topic: Easiest way to become a high school teacher?  (Read 6077 times)

rhadams1988

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Easiest way to become a high school teacher?
« on: September 10, 2016, 10:22:19 AM »
I'm currently an engineer working for a big corporation, but I have dreams of becoming a high school science teacher over the next 5 years. I've always loved science, educating young people, and I'm envious of my wife's work/like balance as a middle school teacher.

Anyway, does anyone have advice on the easiest way to become a high school science teacher? I live in Illinois (Chicago) and I know there are certificate programs as well as MA programs at a few universities, but these take about 2 years to complete and a fair amount in tuition. One way around this is to work for a private institution like my wife does, but I figured someone else might know a better way. Thanks a lot!

meandmyfamily

• Bristles
Re: Easiest way to become a high school teacher?
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2016, 12:48:09 PM »
At our local community college you can get a post grad certification to teach high school (if you already have a Bachelors) for $6900 and it takes just over a year.  Check out your community colleges.

NV Teacher

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2016, 01:10:15 PM »
Check with your state DOE and/or local districts to see if they have an Alternative Route to Licensure proagam.

We have two new teachers that did this at my school this year.  One is a retired police officer and the other has a degree in Agriculture Science. 

They had to take a six week course and spend another four weeks working with a teacher in a classroom.  Now that they are in the classroom they have three years to complete their education course work which will then give them a Masters in Education.  They will get a stipend/grant to pay for about half of the course work for the Masters.  Not a bad deal if they can handle being beginning teachers along with taking classes at the same time.