Author Topic: Early Retirement Investing - Tax Strategies  (Read 25050 times)

mrmoneygoatee

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Early Retirement Investing - Tax Strategies
« on: February 24, 2012, 10:22:39 AM »
I am in search of tax strategy advice related to early retirement. Any help is greatly appreciated!

I admit that I am a novice in this area, so even if someone could point me to a solid book or site to get started, that would also be lovely.

Below are more details to put it in context.

I am 28 and would like to become "financially independent" by 43 (in 15 years)--my goal is to earn $30k/year in passive income from investments by the time I am 43.

I currently put 7% of my income in pre-tax 401k through my company. This gives me their full match (3.5%). I project to have $400k in this account by 43 and $1.5MM by 65 if I cease contributions at 43 and earn 6% interest after that. This is enough to fund post-65 retirement, and I also should get a very healthy pension, so I don't wish to contribute more to accounts that I can't access until 65.

My mortgage will be paid off in 15 years (or less), and I will have no other debt. (My only other debt now is a student loan.)

I plan to save >$25k/year above and beyond mortgage (3.5%), 401k, Health Savings Account, Daycare Flex Spending, 529 College Savings, and Student Loan (3.875%) payments. This amount will increase directly with my income, which I expect to increase at least 3%/year.

I project that I will make $30k/year interest on this extra investment after 14 years if I earn 6% return.

These are my basic plans. I realize that 6% may be a little optimistic, but that is how I did it for now. I can adjust things accordingly if I change that.

Right now, I have $20k in an online savings account with Ally. I would like to use some of this to get started in addition to the $25k/year I will begin contributing ASAP.

My work's pre-tax 401k is through Fidelity. I can also contribute to a Roth or an after-tax option.