Author Topic: Early retirement and 403(b)  (Read 26976 times)

cabeasle

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Early retirement and 403(b)
« on: December 09, 2012, 09:21:59 AM »
Good morning all,

I am new to the forums, but am a long time reader of the site.  I'm currently bungling my way through investing, readings lots, and making changes to my strategy as I learn better/more refined methods.

I recently learned that I have the option of entering a 403(b) plan through work (I'm a teacher).  For the previous two years, I have been maxing out a Roth IRA and then putting a large chunk of cash into taxable accounts via Vanguard, but am now trying to decide if I should switch over to the 403 instead of the taxable accounts.

My concern is that I want to retire as early as possible (whenever that may be), and I don't know if a 403b is a good option in that case since it ties up my cash until age 59.  Then again, I hate to lose out on the tax break.

It also appears that the firm that handles the 403 (VALIC) has a few fees associated with it, as well, and has a limited range of investment options.  I hate to give anyone money to handle my accounts when Vanguard is so cheap, but perhaps the tax savings will help to offset the increased cost?

So, basically, I am just wondering what opinions are out there about 403(b)s and early retirement.  Is this a good investment vehicle, or should I go ahead and keep using taxable accounts so that I have access to my money however early I want it?

Another Reader

• Walrus Stache
Re: Early retirement and 403(b)
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2012, 10:10:43 AM »
Teacher 403(b) plans rend to be heavily oriented toward annuities.  VALIC is the new name for AIG Retirement, which you can expect to push annuities.  There may be self-directed mutual fund accounts offered, depending on the program selected by your employer.  If you post more about the available investment options and fees, the folks here will be in a better position to evaluate the program.