Author Topic: Drowning in Debt--Where do we begin?!  (Read 19402 times)

ellyfinzer

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Drowning in Debt--Where do we begin?!
« on: July 24, 2013, 01:05:15 PM »
I love what I'm reading in the blog, but I don't have a clue how to start using this great advice in my own life. I feel like we're sinking under the weight of our bad decisions. My husband makes $40k/yr, has $50k school loan debt (no degree-he dropped out), $5k credit card debt, and is leasing a new Honda Accord for $300/month. I am a full time student. I work part time, making $7k/yr, plus $3k in grant money. I will graduate next spring with $20k school loan debt and I have $6k credit card debt and $25k car loan debt because I stupidly bought a new car last year when we had more income. The insurance on both cars is $200/month. We drive everywhere and I don't own a bike. We also have one 12-year-old girl who outgrows her clothes every other month and eats enough food to feed a baseball team, 1 pug and 2 cats.
The good news is: we don't have cable, we eat at home, we have the cheapest internet plan available in our area ($40/month-husband uses for his home business that isn't generating a steady income at this point), I got rid of my smartphone (paying $10/month for basic phone instead of $100/month for fancy phone w/ unlimited data/talk/text), I buy all of my clothing used (total thrift store lover, but my 6'9" husband buys new clothes every two years because he doesn't find anything used that fits him), and we monitor electricity closely but we still average $150/month for electric May-October (living in the desert means summer bills can be outrageous).
I want to leaving this soul-crushing stress behind and maintain a much freer life, but where on earth do we start?

AlmostIndependent

• Pencil Stache
Re: Drowning in Debt--Where do we begin?!
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2013, 01:14:52 PM »