Author Topic: Drop Everything and Move Out West  (Read 17280 times)

benjaminbutton

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Drop Everything and Move Out West
« on: May 18, 2015, 09:00:13 AM »
Myself and my fiance make decent money living and working in Iowa.  136k combined, unfortunately we have about 140k of student loan debt.  Both engineers, I have my masters.

Fiance commutes close to an hour each way, doesn't really like her job. My job is 5 minutes away, can't stand the job.  Not much for careers in this area in our fields, so we are looking to move out west near family that has escaped the midwest.  Colorado or California... Maybe Arizona.  We have a month to month lease in a tiny apartment and we are ready to get out of town. 

The loans are shackling us here... Looking for any advice.  It is terrifying to up and leave without a job but we're just that despondent about our current situation that we are considering it.  We ideally want jobs before leaving but it is hard to get our feet in the door from so far away.

Help!

AlwaysBeenASaver

• Bristles
Re: Drop Everything and Move Out West
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2015, 10:54:00 AM »
Can you live on just 1 of your salaries? Maybe one of you can go "Out West" and secure a job and low cost apartment, before the other leaves their job?

thurston howell iv

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2015, 12:40:41 PM »
If you're browsing this forum you're already on the right track. Additionally, you seem relatively young.

Before you acquire a bunch of junk (eg: a house with rooms full of furniture, books, misc. cars, etc...) I would recommend setting a super strict budget.
If your student loans have great interest rates that's fine. If not, check out SL refinancing options.