Author Topic: Don't know if I can stay until the end of my notice.  (Read 13323 times)

startingsmall

• Pencil Stache
Don't know if I can stay until the end of my notice.
« on: April 19, 2018, 08:29:17 PM »
My job contract required 2 months notice, so I sucked it up and gave 2 months. I'm now one month in and I just don't think I can do it anymore. We've had the week from hell. (I'm a veterinarian in a busy, rural, low-cost clinic.) The other associate vet has almost walked out multiple times. It's nuts. We're overbooked and understaffed.

This morning, I looked at the schedule and realized that I have 23 patients scheduled in the span of 3.5 hours on an upcoming weekend shift. I overheard my manager talking about adding another patient that day and told her that I absolutely COULD NOT see any more patients in that timeframe. Later, I went back and saw that she added the appointment anyway.

When I confronted her, she told me that I'm making a big deal out of nothing, this is totally normal, etc. (It isn't. In the clinic I'm going to, 3.5 hrs = 11 appointments. In most vet clinics, 3.5 hrs =7-11 appts.) She then went on to say "You're obviously just an unhappy person. You'll NEVER be happy anywhere."

Hmm. Rings a bell. That's exactly what my abusive ex-husband used to say.

So, I'm going to work tomorrow. Haven't yet decided whether I'll continue attempting to work out my notice or whether I'll make tomorrow my last day. I want to work my full notice and not be a jackass, but I kind of feel like these circumstances may warrant leaving only one month into my two month notice. Do they? Or am I just an unreasonable and unhappy person?