Author Topic: Doing well, but I feel like lots of room for improvement. Advice?  (Read 9806 times)

Cecil

• Bristles
I've always thought I was doing pretty well financially, but now I'm not so sure. Reading about 50-60-70% savings rates and the kind of expenses you all have is making me a bit worried (and envious!). I'd love to hear any advice you have on how we can improve our situation.

Wife and I are 28, no kids but planning to have a couple in the next 5 years. I'm an engineer making ~$70k, she's a teacher making $50k. We live in Vancouver, Canada and pay dearly for it. :)

The Stache.
My TFSA (tax-free, after-tax savings) - $33k
Her TFSA - $27k
My RRSP (tax-deferred, like a 401k) - $78k
Her defined benefit pension - currently at $122/month when she retires which I valued at ~$22k
Condo - $240k with a $165k mortgage, for $75k of equity.
Savings - $5k

Total NW - $240k

Our investments are 90% stocks 10% bonds. Mostly in variety of index funds and some in a few stocks I like (GOOG, TSLA, WJA).

Income
I make $4500/month after tax, she makes $2700 for a total of $7k/month.

4% of my paycheque ($200) goes directly into an employer-matched RRSP. It's got an equity fund I'm paying 1% MER on.

Monthly Expenses
I've kept track of everything we spent since we started living together in 2006. Expenses averaged over the last year or so:

$930 Mortgage (@ 2.2%, I'm pretty happy with that. Something like $300 interest every month).
$170 Condo fee. Can't get away from that.
$550 Groceries. This is pretty much all fresh fruit, veggies, dairy, meat on sale, rice, and pasta. Food is expensive here.
$250 Eating out. We usually go out 1-2x/week, almost always with friends. I think we can get this down to $150-200 but it's hard without becoming asocial.
$200 Alcohol. That's on top of groceries and eating out. Booze is really pricey here with all the tax - cheapo beer is $10/6pack and wine is $10/bottle.