Author Topic: Does it really use less energy/cost less to leave radiators on?  (Read 4524 times)

Gray Matter

• Magnum Stache
Does it really use less energy/cost less to leave radiators on?
« on: November 04, 2013, 04:42:55 AM »
I live in a 126-year-old drafty house (not sure if that's relevant).  I've been told by several people that it uses less energy/costs less to leave my heat up rather than turn it up and down, something about it taking more energy to heat the water and iron radiators back up than to leave them at a constant temperature.

I've been ignoring that advice for 10 years, because it doesn't make sense to me that it should use less energy to keep my house at 65 degrees all the time than to keep it at 58 degrees 20 hours a day (while sleeping and at work) and at 65 only four hours a day.

But then I read it in a reputable magazine, but without any explanation as to why.  I'm still skeptical, but admit that I know very little about physics (is this even a physics question?) or energy, so thought I'd check in here.

jr1029

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Does it really use less energy/cost less to leave radiators on?
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2013, 08:44:14 AM »
Wow I am so looking forward to an answer to this question from someone knowledgeable, as it has been bugging me for years!

Last year I tried experimenting both ways and couldn't see a clear difference month to month. But that could have to do with outside temps - not a controlled experiment. Will be checking back eagerly!

Cecil

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2013, 09:38:35 AM »
When it comes down to it, you can think of your house as a black box. Heat escapes, and you have to replace it. You pay only to replace the heat that escapes. (If that doesn't make sense, consider that if your house was perfectly sealed and insulated your heating bill would be $0).