Author Topic: Does anybody here work in the bike industry? Need some career advice.  (Read 5229 times)

ROY2007

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I'm strongly considering a big career change. I'm 26 and I work as an analyst at a small bank making $46k a year. My wife is a school teacher making about $40k a year. I've also worked at a local sporting goods store/bike shop for the past year on nights and weekends. The owner of the store would like to bring me on full time to run the bike shop. The current bike shop manager will be retiring soon. I think that I would do well in this role and I think it sounds like a lot of fun, but I'm a little nervous. I don't have any experience as a bike mechanic. I have fiddled with my own bikes for the past two years, went through the Trek training program (emphasis more on selling and features and benefits of new products), watched hours of YouTube videos, read books on bike repair, and even took a class through a different local bike shop. I'm still not completely confident with the mechanic side of things.

The offer from the LBS:
$19/hr plus 10% commission on bike and accessory sales (Bike sales were approximately $50k last year, but were over $100k just a few years ago)

The sporting goods store/bike shop:
- In business for 30+ years in a smaller town
- Currently two stores, but one store will be closing soon (the newer store opened about 15 months ago and has not done well)
- The bike shop sells Trek bikes exclusively

Personal financial situation:

Assets
Home: $190k
401ks and IRAs: $79k
Taxable Investments: $6k
Cash: $5k

Total Assets: $280k

Liabilities
Mortgage: $130k

Net Worth: $150k

Any advice would be appreciated. I feel like I could grow the bike shop into something really special (or get great experience for opening my own shop in a few years) and make money doing something I love.
« Last Edit: November 24, 2015, 12:14:37 PM by ROY2007 »

ROY2007

• 5 O'Clock Shadow