Author Topic: Do you use car insurance if you can DIY fix  (Read 4047 times)

G. Thomas

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Do you use car insurance if you can DIY fix
« on: April 25, 2016, 11:34:47 AM »
I smoked a jack rabbit and it took out a fog light, horn, and slightly damaged front bumper/undercarriage.  The car is an '11 Mazda 3.  I can DIY repair but it won't be "like new" which is fine.  I have GEICO and a $500 deductible comprehensive component.  What steps should I take?  Car is fine to drive.

-If I use the coverage will my payments increase?
-Should I get an estimate from an independent shop and then connect with GEICO?
-Should I just DIY and be done with it?

I've never used my auto insurance before so don't know different ways to go about incidents.

lthenderson

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Do you use car insurance if you can DIY fix
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2016, 11:43:46 AM »
Doing a claim through your insurance can increase your premiums depending on which insurance company and years you've done business with them. However, I've found that talking directly to my insurance agent in cases like this is the best route for determining what it will do to my future premiums. This means that yes, I would take it somewhere to get an estimate of what it would cost to fix. This will also aid in determining whether to DIY or place a claim on your insurance.

Depending on level, a 11 Mazda 3 is on worth about $7k. I probably wouldn't insure the car for collision if it were mine unless totaling it would put you in financial straights. If you were thinking about dropping collision, then I might go through the claim process and then drop that part afterwards.

forummm

• Walrus Stache
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2016, 12:28:21 PM »