Author Topic: Do you recommend used or new for car newbie?  (Read 2672 times)

ashwinmm

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Do you recommend used or new for car newbie?
« on: May 06, 2018, 07:18:21 AM »
I'm new to the US (Bay Area) and never driven cars before in my life. I bike/Uber express pool to work. But, we (me and spouse) definitely need a car so our small kid can be dropped to childcare few times a week, take him somewhere out on weekends and for us to see the Bay Area.

We are thinking about Honda Fit or Toyota Prius (both good Mustachian choices I hope).

For our situation, do you recommend we buy used, certified pre-owned (CPO) or new? If used, I'm thinking of not getting anything older than 6 years.
If used, what place do you recommend I search? Craigslist or CarFax or something else?
Any other things a newbie should be aware of?

PS: I know there is a lot of info online about this. I don't find much that is recent, focused on car newbies and those buying not too old cars.

BookLoverL

• Bristles
Re: Do you recommend used or new for car newbie?
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2018, 10:21:23 AM »