Author Topic: Do you really enjoy going to work?  (Read 7078 times)

11ducks

• Pencil Stache
Do you really enjoy going to work?
« on: June 01, 2016, 03:32:45 PM »

Hi all,

I'm struggling with work burnout I think, and looking for advice. I've been teaching high school for 7 years now, and while I love some of it (the teaching, working with great kids who want to be there), the rest is mega draining (the behaviour management, the ridiculous expectations from admin, unreasonable parents, forcing kids who don't give a darn over the line). I'm tired of having to 'gird my loins' to go to work, especially days like today, where I have my particularly challenging class and know i'll be dealing with drama and stress and rushing between classes, yard duty, more classes and meetings. I wake up dreading it.

I'm studying at night to change careers (its an additional qualification on top of the math ones I have now, to allow me to work more in the medical stats side. So it too, is contributing to the exhaustion I think, as I go from work, to parenting, to studying until about 11pm most nights. I've stopped exercising (as my schedule is full 6.30am-11pm), and am eating poorly (which doesn't help matters). I never have time to do any of the activities that I love (rock climbing, bushwalking, beach) anymore, due to no childcare/no money (saving)/ no time.

My most sensible option is to wait 1.5 more years, then get a job working in the field for a year, so i'll have some experience before grad. I would leave earlier, but it will mean a big pay drop, and probably less desirable hours with childcare for DS11. I don't know whether my work situation is really bad enough that I can justify the disruption that comes with changing careers earlier, but am also pretty sure its not normal to dread going into work.

So, I guess, I want to know - how do you know whether to stick it out, or move on? Is it okay to wake up wishing you don't have to go to work today?

Choices

• Pencil Stache