Author Topic: Do you like your job?  (Read 14516 times)

Breadwinner

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Do you like your job?
« on: September 08, 2014, 11:15:22 AM »
I am eager to hear from people who like their jobs. I am pretty stressed a work. I have about 15 years  till FI at the rate I am going. I feel like I should be considering a job/ career change for the last leg of my journey to FI. However, I have lost faith in the "do what you love, and the money will follow" theory. Please, if you like your job or are even somewhat satisfied, let me know what you do for a living.

Thanks!

RichMoose

• Pencil Stache
  • RiskManagement
    • The Rich Moose | A Better Canadian Finance Blog
Re: Do you like your job?
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2014, 11:37:57 AM »
Yes I love my job! I currently work in infrastructure / transportation planning and protection for a municipal government and have been doing this for about 1.5 years, before that I was a police officer. My area is currently undergoing a huge economic boom and with that comes companies who just think they can do what they want to "get the job done", destroying millions of dollars of taxpayers infrastructure every year. Essentially I work with a great group of people to plan roads and routes for industrial and commercial traffic and then enforce laws so that our roads don't get destroyed by heavy vehicles. It's a great job and I like seeing the positive outcomes of our work. There is some satisfaction in handing a careless construction company a bill for several hundred thousand dollars for road repairs, protecting taxpayers from that expense. It's amazing how many people in this world think that the government possesses a magic pot of endless money that falls from the sky, not realizing that the money comes from all of us.