Author Topic: Do you ever stop putting money in tax sheltered retirement account?  (Read 5527 times)

aperture

• Bristles
Hello mustachios,

I am a newbie to the site and to the FIRE community.  My wife and I have been maxing our 403B contributions for years and we now have ~$840K in retirement accounts.  I am 53 and will be able to access my retirement account in 6 years.  My wife is 42.  We have two kids that will be going to college in 5 and 7 years and we plan to fund state school education.  We have around $40K in education accounts.  We have virtually no cash on hand and have just opened a taxable savings account with Vanguard but with only $1500.  We are in the midst of a fast-180 on spending after encountering the gospel of the triple M.  Having had only a single strategy for saving for the last 15 years, we are kind of lopsided.  I am thinking of stopping all contributions to the 403B accounts and instead putting all our savings into both paying off the $220K remaining mortgage (at 2.75%) as well as into the taxable Vanguard account.  My question for you all is whether it makes sense to stop contributing to the tax-sheltered accounts with a goal of creating more accessible accounts and to quickly get out from under the mortgage.  My thought is that if we had the house paid off and some accessible funds, we would be in a much more flexible position to walk away from work.  TIA for your thoughts. 

johnny847

• Magnum Stache
    • My Blog
Re: Do you ever stop putting money in tax sheltered retirement account?
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2015, 09:36:26 PM »
Increasing your mortgage payments will have the opposite effect. You're now putting that money into home equity, which is not easily tapped (unless you open a HELOC...but then you're paying an interest rate higher than your mortgage). You've just decreased your liquidity, not increased it.