Author Topic: Do we replace the engine or buy a different car?  (Read 1717 times)

abbeydabbey

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Do we replace the engine or buy a different car?
« on: February 25, 2021, 11:31:45 AM »
Alright! I'm very new to MMM and forums, and I really need some advice!

I got out of college last year and paid off all of my student debt last month. Debt free, woo! I have a boyfriend of one year who is close to being debt free and also wants to marry me soon, woo!

He has a 2010 Subaru Forester with 130,000 miles. He borrowed money for it 4 years ago and has about $500 left to pay on the loan, woo!

So here's the bad news: The Subaru blew its engine a few months ago. We aren’t really sure how this happened. He got an oil change about 2 months prior to destroying the engine. There was no burning of oil, no leaking of oil, and no “check engine” light on until it was too late. The only place in town that will work on a Subaru is the Subaru dealer, of course. They quoted $9000 to replace the engine. The car is only worth $7500! We are considering replacing the engine ourselves, with the help of my dad (who I would feel pretty guilty asking to help… he is older, already works 60 hours a week, and works on his own vehicles on the weekends). A refurbished engine would cost $4000 or so. Shipping, parts, and hoses would be an estimated $2000 or so, if everything goes smoothly. It would still cost around $6000 to replace it ourselves, and we would be left with a car with a refurbished engine worth about $7500 that no shop in town, except the dealer, can work on…