Author Topic: Do I sell my truck?  (Read 1312 times)

LumberJesse

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Do I sell my truck?
« on: May 07, 2021, 08:21:52 PM »
Hey mustachians,

I work in construction as a carpenter for a local contractor in the mountains of California. I make $20/hour but should see closer to $25/hour in the next six months. We do mainly remodels and additions, and part of my initial acceptance of the job was loosely that I had a truck.

I have a lumber rack and regularly haul stuff around for us. I don’t mind that, but What I do mind is the gas mileage. I happened to have an 03 Toyota Tundra 4x4 V8 when I started the job. It gets 13 in town and I seldom drive it outside of work (we drive my wife’s prius for everything else).

Currently I spend about $150/month on gas, $200 at the most. It’s California and the mountains, so it’s average $4/gallon up here.

My conundrum is this: it’s paid for, it’s super reliable and costs my next to nothing to own outside of gas. The trucks last forever and it’s great to drive. I put 500-1000 lbs of lumber on it at least once a month doing side jobs, and in two years I’ll have a contractors license and plan to go out on my own.but the gas mileage SUCKS!

Do I keep the truck because it works, or do I sell it and buy a better mpg truck? I know I can get a good 2wd 5spd tacoma or frontier for what I can sell it for, but the ability to haul large amounts of material and do bigger side jobs is really nice. What do you guys think?

travel2020

• Stubble
Re: Do I sell my truck?
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2021, 10:35:17 AM »
Looking at average gas mileage for older Tacoma’s, you will probably save ~ 40% in gas costs per month. At $150/m, that’s about $60/m or $80/m using your max figure.

If you will lose some side jobs because of having a smaller truck, would this saving in gas make up for it?

Also factor in the known reliability of current vehicle vs any potential unknown issues with a replacement vehicle and costs to address those.