Author Topic: Dispute Dental Charge?  (Read 9075 times)

The 585

Dispute Dental Charge?
« on: February 10, 2017, 03:45:20 PM »
I'm new to the whole insurance deal, so I have a question about a recent situation.

I had a routine dental cleaning and check-up last week. The hygienist saw a small spot of decay on one of my wisdom teeth, and snapped a digital photo. When I left they gave me my receipt which included the (1) cleaning, (2) check up, and (3) "2d orthoscopic photo" -- which I thought was kind of strange, but indicated a $0 balance because it was all estimated to be covered by insurance, so I didn't think twice.

However, I just received my Explanation of Benefits from my dental provider, indicating that the $40 for this "2d orthoscopic photo" is not covered, and the patient responsibility will be $40. The cleaning and check up, of course, were covered in full. I haven't yet received my official bill from the dental office, so I may be getting a little ahead of myself.

Will I really have to pay $40 for this? They never even asked if I wanted this done, or told me that it would cost extra! I don't want to be the guy questioning the expense of their every move, but I found this charge a little crazy. Any way to dispute the charge for this "service"? Anybody have a similar situation happen to them?

FIRE me

• Handlebar Stache
  • So much technology, so little talent.
Re: Dispute Dental Charge?
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2017, 04:05:53 PM »
If the insurance does not cover it, the first step is to contact the insurance company and ask why not?

green daisy

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2017, 04:32:06 PM »
As a dental hygienist, I have never heard of an office charging for an intraoral photo.  It wouldn't hurt to call and politely ask about the charge. 

marty998

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2017, 04:53:26 AM »
The dentist could probably get a better quality photo from your average smartphone...