Author Topic: Dilemma: how to help someone with a poor track record?  (Read 13485 times)

Gray Matter

• Magnum Stache
Dilemma: how to help someone with a poor track record?
« on: December 14, 2013, 08:07:24 AM »
Back story (sorry, this is long):

When I was a 19-year-old college student, I got involved in a big buddy/little buddy program, where I was matched with an eight-year-old boy.  His story was, sadly, pretty typical.  Mom had five children by three or four different men by the time she was 21; he was the only one still living with her (father was not in the picture). She was a serious drug addict, couldn’t hold a job, was frequently evicted, often homeless, in and out of unhealthy relationships, etc.  She loved him, but he had very little stability in his life and often not even the basics (food, shelter, electricity).  I loved this little boy and saw such potential in him.  He had a big heart, an infectious laugh, and was so curious about the world. 

Over the five years of our relationship, I saw how life beat him down, how he came to distrust those who were trying to help him (because they took him away from his mom, whom he loved deeply despite everything), and I watched his hope and optimism drain away.  At one point, we were talking about what he wanted to be when he grew up, and he said he wanted to work at McDonald’s, because he wanted to buy a car, but he didn’t want to have to clean the toilets.  My boys, at that age, still thought anything was possible (inventor, President, astronaut), but this boy didn't even have the capacity to dream big.