Author Topic: DH and I disagree re: FIRE and lifestyle - advice needed! (Canadian)  (Read 6046 times)

Peanutty

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I guess this is maybe a partial case study, but moreso I feel like I don't have anyone in my life I can fully disclose my financial situation to in order to get unbiased (or at least less biased) advice. Looking for thoughts and opinions on what others would do and how to handle this between DH and I.

We are a Canadian family of 5. I've been working the corporate gig for 10 years (intermingled with 3 parental leaves) and really the whole decade has been spent feeling that I am in the golden handcuffs while my soul is slowly being crushed. DH and I have similar high-pressure careers with long hours and frankly, excellent compensation, but as a family of 5, between work, commuting, school, daycare, food, chores, etc. I feel like I'm "working" from the moment I wake up (5:45am) until the eldest child is in bed (8:30pm). And by 8:30pm I'm so mentally exhausted I have approximately 30 minutes to myself to decompress before I am also in bed. And then weekends are spent catching up on everything we didn't get to during the week (laundry, cleaning, groceries, etc.) and trying to squeeze in true family time and also relax. It's just... not the balance I want. At all. I feel like the walls are closing in around me with the current lifestyle.

So, issue 1. My DH doesn't seem to mind the grind nearly as much as I do. Or at least, outwardly he says he does not mind. But frequently is quite grumpy and complains of exhaustion and never having time for his friends or exercise. So I think it is wearing on him as well but he's more inclined to just put his nose to the grindstone and work hard to keep the money flowing in.