Author Topic: Debt repayment and savings rate  (Read 4421 times)

TonyC

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Debt repayment and savings rate
« on: October 03, 2014, 02:28:39 PM »
Hello,
I put 15% of my salary towards my 401(k) with a 5% match.  This gives me a 20% savings rate.  I put another 30%-40% towards debt repayment (mortgage 4.125%, car loan 3.25%, CC 0%).  Can I add the two and rightfully claim a savings rate of 50%-60%?  Or is debt repayment not considered a form of savings?

Thanks.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Debt repayment and savings rate
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2014, 02:36:56 PM »
The principal amount paid towards the debt is savings.

The interest portion of the payment is not.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Keynes'UpperLip

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2014, 06:03:27 PM »
So, what is my savings rate if:

Employer-paid pension: 14% of pre-tax salary
Mandated employee-paid pension: 8.6% of pre-tax salary
Elective 457b contribution: 3.5% of pre-tax salary

-and-

I save 33% of my take-home pay?

Do the percentages all have to be of the same number? Do you need more info to determine this?

Thanks.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2014, 09:53:04 PM »
I would total (amount you save + amount they save for you) divided by (gross pay including all amounts they save for you).
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.