Author Topic: Dating a Horse Girl and her Finances  (Read 31309 times)

czc118

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Dating a Horse Girl and her Finances
« on: June 11, 2015, 06:19:47 AM »
I've been dating my current girlfriend for long enough to where the subject of finances has reared its ugly head.  This is a sensitive topic for most especially if you are debt.  Long story short most things in our relationship work out great!  I can see myself going the distance with this girl on many levels. 

This is my first time dating a "horse girl".  I don't typically like using that term because it tends to come across in a derogatory way but I think most people can relate so im using it with no negative connotations.  Up until recently I thought I wanted to get into horses so I though it would be a great match but after some time in the saddle I have realized they are too expensive and too dangerous for my conservative tastes.  I also up until recently did not realize the passion that she had for her horse and realized that if I continue the relationship with her there is no doubt in my mind that I continue the financial relationship with the horse.

Being a believer in the mustachian philosophy I couldn't help but ask how much is this going to cost.  While we were dating she told me how much it cost in a piece wise fashion as we were at the very awesome barn.  I thought wow this barn is such a cool place I wonder how much it cost... $300/month and that's cheap if you know horses.  When all is said in done I do not see how the horse will cost any less than about $1000/month with boarding, food, vet, supplements, trailers, trucks, competitions...etc  I would consider this to be an aggressively low number as well.  Anyone who knows horses knows that its one of those hobbies that really has no limit on spending.