Author Topic: Dad in Canada has high fee investments - wants to switch to index  (Read 1935 times)

PoutineLover

• Handlebar Stache
Hi, I'm looking for some advice for my father. He recently realized that his management fees were almost the same as his monthly contribution, so he is not earning much on his investments. I told him about index funds and he is interested in making the switch, but I am not an expert and I was hoping someone here could tell me if that is a good idea. What about dividends or ETF? He lives in Canada, has about $180,000 I think, I'm pretty sure it's mostly in an RRSP and maybe some of it is in taxable accounts. He's banking with CIBC, I don't know if they have any good low fee funds, or if he should switch to another bank or to Vanguard. The other thing is, he is about 15 years from retirement age, and I don't want him to put this in something where he loses a lot of money and doesn't have time to wait it out. Any thoughts are much appreciated, I'll try to add details if more are needed. Thanks Mustachians!

okits

• CMTO 2023 Attendees
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Dad in Canada has high fee investments - wants to switch to index
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2015, 02:24:13 PM »
I am all for switching to get lower fees and/or DIY investing, but (and it's a big but) the first step is becoming knowledgeable about investments and taxation.  Other than the high fees, are your father's investments appropriate for his goals and risk tolerance?  Does he have an investment plan?  There are a few government pension/benefits plans for seniors, which will he be eligible for and are his investments structured to maximize his after-tax income?