Author Topic: Curtains for Cheap?  (Read 5248 times)

Tyson

• Magnum Stache
Curtains for Cheap?
« on: December 22, 2016, 04:11:10 PM »
OK, I'm getting some $$ as a bonus at work and I'd like to put in some curtains in my basement mostly because the wooden shades we have in there now don't do much to block the cold. I'm also thinking of putting up a rod with a curtain in front of our fireplace down there, too.  Because we don't use it and its a bit drafty. 

Where can I find some nice curtains (or curtain material)?  I don't know anything about curtains or prices, total newb here. 

NV Teacher

• Pencil Stache
Re: Curtains for Cheap?
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2016, 04:57:55 PM »
My friend hangs vintage quilts over her drafty windows and doors.  It makes a big difference.  She bought most of them at thrift stores and yard sales.  You could make curtains but to prevent heat loss you will need heavy upholstery fabric.  The good stuff will be $30 a yard and up.  Another thing my friend did was to get a couple sheets of rigid foam insulation and cut pieces that fit snugly in the window frames.  It also blocks the light but she found the heat savings to be worth it.

Grosgrain

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2016, 07:08:58 PM »
My best deals on curtains and rods have come from off-price retailers like Ross, TJMaxx/Homegoods, and Tuesday Morning. I got an amazing deal on insulated panels for around $8 a pair(!) at Ross one time. Unfortunately, their stock is all over the place so you never know what you might find. If you don't want to hunt around, IKEA or Target have reasonable, and attractive, options.

I agree that the yardage needed to make heavy curtains would be a lot more expensive.

AMandM

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2016, 09:18:43 PM »