Author Topic: Current Student Help: Pay Interest or Save?  (Read 2908 times)

RCRevolution5

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Current Student Help: Pay Interest or Save?
« on: August 24, 2016, 12:52:56 PM »
Hello everyone,

I am a professional student that has almost $58k in loans part way through my second year of school. I only take out loans for tuition and mandatory fees; after that I receive $1,200 per month for rent and living expenses. I'm projecting my loan total to be a bit over $200k, not including interest accrual throughout school.

After inspiration from MMR and other sources a few months ago, I began budgeting and I decided to throwing my extra cash towards loan payments to pay down the interest accrual. I was able to shave off $100 from my budget in June, $100 from July, and $200 in August. In addition, I deposited a bunch of cash lying around for payment, which amounted to $629. This $1,029 went to a payment on my recently disbursed, highest interest loan (6.31%). $16.83 went to interest, $1,012.17 went to principle. I currently have total interest accrual from my lower interest rate loans at $1,027.34, making me only $15.17 behind, although keeping up with additional loans for the next 2+ years will not be possible at this rate.

My question is: should I continue throwing money at the interest throughout my time in school, or would it be best to save money elsewhere?

Thank you for your time!

therethere

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Current Student Help: Pay Interest or Save?
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2016, 12:59:02 PM »
My advice? Take out less loans and get a PT job to supplement for living expenses. Its backwards to take out a loan only to repay it with the money from the loan.

If not, pay down the loan. Don't save. 200k is a ton to pay back in loans so anything you can do NOW to lower the total balance is the best path forward.

notactiveanymore

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2016, 01:07:00 PM »