Author Topic: Curious how YNAB folks handle their HSA  (Read 7369 times)

Thegoblinchief

Curious how YNAB folks handle their HSA
« on: March 06, 2015, 12:56:17 PM »
Those of you who use YNAB, do you treat your HSA as an on-budget or off-budget account?

I am thinking of treating it as off-budget because of restrictions on how you can spend money, but then that makes it a pain to handle eligible medical spending.

Also, more general question: I assume I can use an HSA to pay for dental expenses even if I don't have dental insurance, yes?

This is our first year having an HSA, so I'm new to all this.

Never mind, answered this part for myself by finding the appropriate IRS pub.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2015, 12:58:42 PM by Thegoblinchief »

Runge

• Stubble
Re: Curious how YNAB folks handle their HSA
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2015, 01:18:32 PM »
I don't have one, but if I did, I'd handle it as off budget. Mainly because I'd be treating it like another retirement account.
http://www.madfientist.com/ultimate-retirement-account/
http://www.madfientist.com/hsa/

In addition, I'd keep all of my medical expenses all under the same budget category, and/or I would put a "tag" in the memo field of, something like #medical.

johnny847

• Magnum Stache
    • My Blog
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2015, 01:29:42 PM »
More or less what Runge said.

If you want the nitty gritty of how I would set this up :

Every time I get a paycheck, I enter my gross paycheck into my bank account in YNAB, and then I enter the state and federal tax withholdings (I don't pay FICA as a student) . I do it this way because I like to use YNAB to help me keep track of tax withholding, and about half my pay comes from a source that doesn't withhold tax.

If you were to do it this way then you could record a virtual transfer from your bank account that just because received the paycheck to the off budget HSA.