Author Topic: Critique my FIRE plan please...  (Read 6120 times)

Monkey Uncle

• Handlebar Stache
Critique my FIRE plan please...
« on: July 23, 2017, 01:41:08 PM »
Hi folks,

I've been hanging around here for a few years now, but have never really run my FIRE plan by the forum before.  The plan has me jumping ship around the end of 2017/beginning of 2018, so I figured maybe it's time to get a second opinion, just to make sure.

I hope you don't mind that I'm not doing a full case study.  DW and I have our lifestyle and spending pretty well dialed in, so I'm not really looking for feedback on that aspect of the plan.  Also, I'm a bit paranoid about posting every detail about our investments.  But I'll tell you how I've handled all the major considerations, and hopefully that will be enough for you to see whether I've missed something critical.  On to the givens:

Simulation tool of choice: cFiresim.

Me: Late 40's, employed by Uncle Sam.

DW: Early 60's, retired SAHM.

Debt: About 82k owed on the house, set to be paid off in late 2027.

Current base annual spend: A little over $30k, plus P&I on the mortgage, which brings it to about $40k currently.

Desired FIRE spend: $45k, to allow a little buffer for occasional travel and unexpected large expenses.

Stash: about 57% of it is in taxable accounts plus DW's Roth IRA, all of which can be accessed immediately.  The remainder is divided among my TSP, tIRA and Roth IRA accounts. 75/25 stock/bond breakdown.

Strategy for funding FIRE spend: Pull from taxable accounts and/or DW's Roth while doing a Roth pipeline on my qualified accounts.  In theory, the pipeline conversions should not generate any federal income tax liability due to our MAGI being very low ($45k spend funded by a combination of principal, capital gains, and qualified Roth distributions).