Author Topic: Credit cards - what to do with points questions...  (Read 6096 times)

dandeliongirl75

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Credit cards - what to do with points questions...
« on: December 10, 2014, 12:53:57 PM »
My contribution to another similar post resulted in some great advice, and more questions from me - but I don't want to thread jack so I am moving it over here...:

My questions based on the info below is what should I do with my points when I get them?

The background:

I just started the credit card churning thing to see if it would work for me as a way to get extra cash to invest.
I have a lowish income (just under 50k) and not a lot invested (about 90k in 401k & IRA and I just put 10k in VBIAX as I was too scared to go right for VTSAX). - I am not even able to max out my 401k at this point and also want some in more accessible investments in case I retire sooner than the time I can withdraw without penalties - I am new to investing and am already 40.....

I usually only travel once a year to Europe to visit and stay with family for a month - relatively low cost other than flights which I bought this year (just bought for January travel) with the Barclaycard but I am guessing I will not be able to use the points against it as I will not still have it on my card unless I keep it there and pay interest until I get the points....

Is redeeming the points for cash a complete waste? I am afraid if I keep them I will find reasons to go on other unnecessary trips and then spend more just beacuse I am on vacation (which I really don't have any more time to take anyway) Should I just keep them and use them for next year - if I end up with too many though is that not a waste?

I hope this makes sense...I am new to all this and generally pretty confused - though having fun with all this:)

This was my original post in response to a question from someone else, and then the advice I got: