Author Topic: Cover Letter Quandary  (Read 2739 times)

HipGnosis

• Handlebar Stache
Cover Letter Quandary
« on: August 25, 2016, 05:42:12 PM »
I'm in a predicament.
I need to find a new job (possibly a new career) and need a cover letter for that.

I can't find a cover letter example that covers my situation.
I'm a computer and printer tech.   I've been doing it for 20 yrs.   I've been 'where' I'm at now for 16 years.
I put where in apostrophes because...
It was my dream job.  It was a med-small manufacturing Co. that was pretty high tech.  Over the years, I leaned how to be/do; network support (logical and physical), MS Active Directory support, phone admin., MS Exchange support, ERP support and CRM support.  I threw in some technical writing.
The mix made no two days the same, which I loved.  The boss and I agreed that my main job was juggling priorities.  And we both liked how I did it.
We also agreed that it would be a waste of my time to learn things that I couldn't apply at the job to get certifications.   
It 'was' my dream job - for 14 years...
Two years ago the Co. was sold to a HUGE Corp. conglomerate.   They have teams of highly certified people that do their phone, network, Email, ERP, CRM, etc. admin. 
I'm going to the same place, but my job is totally different now.  I'm doing helpdesk support  for almost all of their locations - via remote connecting to the users computers.
Worse than that, I hate the environment!!  They have no concept of customer service.  They only care about the numbers.  How many service tickets are closed. 
Their training for me for their massive network with hundreds of programs I've never supported is: "you've done this long enough that you should figure it out".
The Corp. growth plan is buying small(ish) Co's, so there are dozens of branches that do things a bit different because they were setup in all different environments - and there's no documentation of the exceptions and/or how they are dealt with.