Author Topic: Could you live out of a car?  (Read 8290 times)

JLee

• Walrus Stache
Could you live out of a car?
« on: January 11, 2015, 03:16:53 PM »
I don't mean that in a strict sense, but I was thinking about this the other day.

I work in the IT industry and am hoping to be doing contract work in the near future (2015 or 2016). When I do this, I will likely be moving around the country every three, six, 9-12/etc months as I move from place to place.  Even being into cars (I generally own a fast car and an offroad vehicle at any given time), I realized that I could probably fit everything I *really* cared about having in/behind my truck.  I can tow my MR2 on a small flatbed with the same SUV that's for offroad/expedition travel. Inside, I should be able to fit the things that I would really want to have: laptop, camera, clothing, some basic tools, etc.

First thought might be- so, I'll go work a 6 month contract with minimal stuff, because I'm going to go back to my house eventually. Where all my stuff is. But...if I don't need it for 6 months, do I really need it at all?  Some of it would be hard to part with, e.g. tools. I have acquired a LOT of tools over the years and they have saved me a LOT of money. So, if I were to keep my house and rent it (right now I have very good friends living here, and I hope they will stay long term), I could leave tools here and just use em whenever I land in Phoenix (catch up on / get ahead of maintenance). Other stuff...firearms, extra clothing, books, furniture, kitchen equipment, desktop computer, home theater, etc., is all not all "necessary", as much as it is nice to have people over for movies and whatnot.

Anyway. This makes me really think about massively downsizing when I start doing contracts - rent furnished studio apartments or rent rooms when I'm working somewhere, and when it comes time to move I could pack up and go in a matter of hours.  Has anyone else done something similar?  Any regrets?