Author Topic: Costco: Switching from AMEX Platinum "Cash Rebate" to "TrueEarnings"  (Read 15459 times)

begood

• Handlebar Stache
Hi! Have any of your frugal folk switched from the Costco American Express Platinum Cash Rebate card to the Costco American Express TrueEarnings card?

I have had the Cash Rebate card since 2001. When I upgraded my membership today to Executive (if you don't match the extra fee in rebates, they pay you the difference) to take advantage of the 2% back on Costco charges, they suggested I switch to the TrueEarnings card. Still no annual fee, and 3% on gas, 2% on restaurants, and 1% on everything else.

I've never tried switching cards before and wondered if it was more complicated than it sounds. Before I get on the phone with AmEx I thought I'd better know what I'm getting into! :)

Thanks!

MrFrugalChicago

• Bristles
Re: Costco: Switching from AMEX Platinum "Cash Rebate" to "TrueEarnings"
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2014, 11:27:54 AM »

I would rather use my Fidelity Amex that gives me 2% cash back on everything.  You already get 2% cash back just for being an Executive member.  So 2% fidelity amex + 2% executive member = 4%.

The costco amex only gives an additional 1% on costco warehouse purchases... 1% + 2% executive = 3%.

Costco, at least here, only accepts Costco CC or Cash or Debit.. no other CC. So your choices are:

Costco Amex = 2% executive + 1% amex = 3% cashback
Debit = 2% executive

begood

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2014, 11:44:06 AM »
Thanks for the replies! I'll explore a little further - I had not considered switching AMEX providers.

madage

• Bristles
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2014, 08:06:23 PM »

Costco accepts any american express credit card and I believe any debit card.  I am in Chicago so maybe it is different in other regions.