Author Topic: Correct ratio of 401k to student loan payoff?  (Read 3898 times)

James Sideburns

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Correct ratio of 401k to student loan payoff?
« on: May 27, 2012, 07:07:22 PM »
Hi!

I just finished reading the entire blog today. I feel like I've been heading a much more frugal direction for the past several years, but this is a whole other level of badassity to aspire to!

Here is my situation - I'm 30, unmarried with no kids. I make just shy of 30,000 a year in a retail back-of-house management position. I've been contributing 11% to my 401k (managed through Fidelity and with a 60% stock, 40% bond ratio) for the past several years (and recently upped that to 13%), and have accumulated 10k on that. There is NO employer matching. :( My take home pay, after taxes, health insurance co-pays and my 401k contribution, works out to $798 every two weeks.

I have a student loan for 23k with a 2.6% interest rate, through the federal government. My minimum payments on that are $135 a month.

I have a $1000 emergency fund.

I have no credit card or other debts. I am car free. Here are my living expenses:

Rent: $450 a month. (I share a big old 3 bedroom Victorian house in Oakland with three other roommates, one of whom is my partner. We split a few bills but otherwise keep our finances completely separate.)

Commute: $130 a month. (I wish I could bike it, but there is no bike access on the Bay Bridge! I ride my bike to the BART station, lock it up, and take a ten minute ride into SF.) Yes, I could work in Oakland and cut my commute costs to $0, but then I lose the fantastic medical reinbursement account required by San Francisco. This account covers every co-payment, lab bill, and over the counter medication you buy, IN FULL. It even paid for my crutches when I injured my foot last year! Savings: about $800 a year. So the commute cut would still be better in most years. If I see an equivalent or better paying job on this side of the Bay, I'll grab it.