Author Topic: Consulting and Retirement Saving  (Read 4992 times)

treehugger

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Consulting and Retirement Saving
« on: July 08, 2014, 08:25:18 PM »
Over the last 3 years I have begun doing consulting/freelance work. I am trying to buckle down on our finances and up our retirement savings. I have a traditional IRA that I contribute but am looking into ways to save additional funds in other retirement accounts for the tax savings. I have been researching Solo 401ks and SEPIRAs. I am wondering what peoples thoughts are on these options, is one better than the other and also want to confirm that as an independent consultant I can indeed open such an account. From my reading on Vanguards site, it seems I can.  I don't make a too much of money doing this work, about $20,000 annually.

I am married and have two children. My husband is a public school teacher with a pension. He has access to a 403(b) as well which I'm trying to convince him to look into further.

I feel somewhat clueless about this and really want to improve on my knowledge. I have asked my father, who I thought was pretty savvy about finances but he's not as helpful as I thought so any good resources besides this website that are out there I should be reading or using please point me that way. Things seem a bit more complicated when you earn money that doesn't result in a W2 or a 1099.

bacchi

• Walrus Stache
Re: Consulting and Retirement Saving
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2014, 09:06:34 PM »
How do you earn money if not from a 1099 or W2? Do you sell actual physical goods and have inventory and depreciation, etc.?

treehugger

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2014, 06:46:10 AM »
No I do not sell anything the main organization I do work for has not provided one. I still have to show the money as earned income on my taxes and would like to shelter more from taxes while also increasing my retirement savings. Therefore I was looking into additional retirement options.

matchewed