Author Topic: Consultant traveling during the week - extra rental income while out of town?  (Read 7542 times)

fumanchu282

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
wondering what everyone thinks about this idea. I think it's probably a little out there, but we'll see.

I'm currently 23 and have been living at home with my parents since I graduated college about 15 months ago. I've had a nice job in IT consulting the whole time and they don't charge me rent and I don't have a car, so I've been saving 75-80% of my pay after taxes

Since I'm in the consulting industry, I travel Monday-Thursday most weeks (leaving Monday morning at the crack of dawn and returning Thursday late) and only spend Thursday-Sunday nights at home. And I spend every other weekend traveling to see my girlfriend. It doesn't make a lot of sense to pay rent on a place that I won't be staying in for most of the week, so living at home has been working out well. Still though, it will be time to fly the coop within the next year.

I live in the Chicago suburbs right now in a very affluent neighborhood, and when I move out I want to move to the city of Chicago. Whenever I run the numbers, it's really a tough pill to swallow that I'll have to start dumping so much money in to rent, especially for what will effectively be a lifestyle deflation. I had a thought though: what if I tried to rent my apartment out via AirBnB on the nights that I'm not there? It seems to me that it would be prime time for business travelers to be staying, especially if the apartment was in close proximity to the Loop.