Author Topic: Considering buying a Jeep. I need a sanity check.  (Read 17728 times)

lifeinhd

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Considering buying a Jeep. I need a sanity check.
« on: July 08, 2015, 09:00:21 PM »
Maybe the plan isn't as ridiculous as it sounds, or then again maybe it is. Lately I've found myself wanting to buy an old Jeep, strictly for off road use and wrenching on (I like a project). I would get a late 80s/early 90s 4WD Cherokee with the 4.0 I6 and preferably a manual transmission. Still, this combination gets 17 MPG on a good day, and off roading with oversized tires will likely get a lot less than that. I would spend no more than $1k for this truck, plus whatever it costs to insure and register it, and the occasional mod/repair for it (skid plates, brush guard, etc). It would be driven <3k mi/yr.

About me: I'm a 22 yo recent graduate making $47k and saving 53% of my income. I save over $1200/mo after tax so this purchase would be <1 month of savings for me. I bike to work, rent a room in a house, pay no utilities, rarely eat out, and have a 40 MPG car I use when I don't bike so my life is fairly efficient. I have ~$27k NW, so I'm a lot better off than most of my peers, but obviously could be doing better still. I've noticed that most of my recent purchases are *needs,* not *wants,* so I don't feel I splurge on myself too often. But I can keep tenuously justifying this all day. Mustachians, what are your thoughts?

Forcus

• Pencil Stache
Re: Considering buying a Jeep. I need a sanity check.
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2015, 09:54:02 PM »
Well here's some food for thought.