Author Topic: Concerned about taxes after raise  (Read 6840 times)

Elaine

• Bristles
    • Small Things Good
Concerned about taxes after raise
« on: September 15, 2013, 06:56:40 AM »
Hi Everyone,
I feel like I've been posting like crazy lately so hopefully you aren't all sick of my questions yet! Also, before I begin let me be clear that I know this is an AWESOME problem to have. I'm 26 (not married, live in nyc, no dependents, rent my apartment, no car) and have been making 46k a year (before taxes), well I just got a big raise to 60k a year (before taxes). Am I going to get totally slammed on my taxes the next time I file? I'm not very good at math, but I'm really trying to improve (bad as in didn't get past pre-algebra in high school), is there a way to figure out how much I will owe? Also, maybe this is stupid, but is there some way I could offset the tax costs by just donating a bunch of money? My mom's friend runs an incredible charity, and honestly, I'd rather just give them 5k as a write off than pay the extra in taxes. How can I figure out how much I would have to donate to do that? Thoughts?

Also if anyone has advice on where I can learn more about personal finance math, I'd love to learn more how to do these calculations- half the posts here on MMM are over my head once he starts in on the calculations. Thanks! You guys have all been super helpful, especially for a young person who doesn't have any good money role models in their life.

Kira

• Stubble
Re: Concerned about taxes after raise
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2013, 09:13:14 AM »
Several thoughts here from a tax perspective. In short: the tax system does not work like that and you will be fine.