Author Topic: Complete noob here.. Diference from Index and Etf  (Read 3047 times)

MexMustachian

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Complete noob here.. Diference from Index and Etf
« on: April 06, 2015, 04:58:58 PM »
Ok so been reading and seems best long run option for investment is Indexing.. what is the diference between:

Vanguard Total Stock Market ETF
Vanguard Total International Stock ETF
Vanguard Total Bond Market ETF

VS

Vanguard Total Stock Market Index
Vanguard Total International Stock Index
Vanguard Total Bond Market Index

No god damned clue what im doing -.-

velocistar237

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Complete noob here.. Diference from Index and Etf
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2015, 05:13:54 PM »
They both buy the same underlying thing, but the packaging is different.

https://investor.vanguard.com/etf/etf-vs-mutual-fund

seattlecyclone

• Walrus Stache
    • My blog
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2015, 05:59:19 PM »
A mutual fund is a collection of different stocks chosen by some management company that get packaged together and sold as a unit. Traditionally, orders for mutual funds go through at the end of a trading day, and the price is based on the closing price of the underlying assets.
An index fund is a mutual fund that tracks a particular index (the S&P 500, for example) as opposed to selecting stocks based on the manager's choice.
An exchange traded fund (ETF) is a mutual fund that trades throughout the day on a stock exchange, as opposed to only at the end of the day.

Many of Vanguard's funds are available as both a traditional mutual fund and an ETF. The underlying assets are identical. Whether you prefer to buy the traditional fund or the ETF is up to you.

velocistar237

• Handlebar Stache

MexMustachian

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2015, 07:49:42 AM »