Author Topic: Company Car, Should I keep Personal  (Read 8054 times)

tmathews

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Company Car, Should I keep Personal
« on: May 29, 2014, 04:03:48 PM »
Hello All!

I am new to Mr Money Mustache and am stoked to join the community. I am 25 Years old and have a 10 year goal of retirement by 35. Now on to my most pressing issue:

I am going to be receiving a company car very soon. With this car, I will not be responsible for gas payments or anything of the sort. 100% of my car bills will be covered. With this, I am struggling to decide if I want to keep my personal vehicle once I receive the company car. I still owe $3,000 on my personal vehicle with an added $100/month for insurance. I work for an incredible company that would allow me to use my company car for personal use, as long as it doesn't involve lengthy road trips. I have a Honda Element and love it to death. I can take it anywhere and always sleep in it while on the road. Practically speaking, it's the perfect car for me. It stows all of my climbing, surfing and mtn bike gear with ease and would make for a great weekend car. But I would love to not have a car/insurance payments. Would it be wise to keep the car, or should I rid of it? Thanks!!!

mcrow

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Company Car, Should I keep Personal
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2014, 04:19:52 PM »
Speaking from a purely money perspective you should sell your element, get out of debt on it and take the free ride. Having a free car +gas+maintenance is great, don't spoil it by keeping a car that is costing you money that you maybe won't use that much.

OTOH, if the company car doesn't suit your purposes for your personal use you have a choice to make. However, for long trips you could rent a car.

Greg

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2014, 04:20:53 PM »
Have you asked if they would cover your expenses on your personal car instead?

mcrow

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2014, 04:47:47 PM »