Author Topic: Commuting to an office on a bike  (Read 11767 times)

Acg

• Stubble
Commuting to an office on a bike
« on: April 02, 2013, 12:57:56 PM »
Hey guys,

So I started riding my bike to work which is going to save me about $100/month but I was wondering if any of you office dwellers have any tips that make it easier.  I work in a somewhat formal office with people wearing slacks and ties, but no suit jackets unless seeing a client.

Do you guys have any tips?  Do you change at work?  I feel a little silly walking into the office in biking clothes so I've been wearing biking rights under my slacks.  Do you put any product in your hair at work?  Do you leave work shoes at work?  Any tips would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks!

Acg

• Stubble
Re: Commuting to an office on a bike
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2013, 01:18:24 PM »
Any recommendations on a bike pump for presta valves to keep at home?  The one I had just totally fell apart this AM.  Thanks.

projekt

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2013, 01:32:30 PM »
Do you guys have any tips?  Do you change at work?  I feel a little silly walking into the office in biking clothes so I've been wearing biking rights under my slacks.

Just compromise! http://www.podiumcycling.com/cycling-jerseys/pee-wee-herman-skinsuit

RoseRelish

• Stubble
    • RoseRelish - Slow down and Enjoy Life
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2013, 02:17:19 PM »
I leave work shoes at work. And keep a change of clothes there just in case something splashes on me or it's an incredibly hot (sweaty) kind of day.

And who cares if you look silly? I wear big snow pants in the winter, get made fun of, but stay warm and have no issues with self-confidence - so it's all good.

Acg

• Stubble
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2013, 05:39:26 PM »
I bought this pump.  It's listed at $19.99 but it goes for $45 pretty much everywhere else.  I think it's a price mistake, jump on it!

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002RVUXMU/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1