Author Topic: College Grad, Massively Underemployed  (Read 9704 times)

derekh

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
College Grad, Massively Underemployed
« on: September 14, 2013, 06:33:47 AM »
I graduated college in May 2013, and volunteered as an inner city school teacher in Mississippi from May-July.  I went to live with my boyfriend in Greensboro, NC, and I have been searching for a job ever since. 

I now have one job that pays $18/hr, but I only work 5 hours a week.  I have a second job that is around 5 hours of work per week, and pays $20/week (I would love to quit this job but it seems stupid to turn down any kind of money)

Part of the problem is that when I was younger, I wanted to join the seminary, so I only took religious jobs- I have been a Sunday school teacher (that's my current $18/hr job) for 7 years, and that is really my only work experience, and it does not qualify me for other positions  at all!

I now know that my dream is to work on a farm, but paid farming apprenticeships do not start until April in NC, and I would like to save up money.  I have gone to temp agencies who have told me that I am unqualified for office work due to my inexperience, and Greensboro, NC is a college town with 7 universities, so the tutor market is flooded.  I have one client once a week, and she pays me $7/hr.

I am networking a lot, within my synagogue and within the people that I know, but this area is awash in so many college students and grads that they require a lot of experience as a way to filter out the many candidates!

I would love to ask for 2 pieces of advice:

1. What are some good ways to find work in a college town where white-collar jobs are snatched up as soon as they are posted?  Or what are some low overhead hustles I can start to generate some small side income?

2. What are some good skills that are free to learn that could lead to future employment?  Currently, I am studying Spanish and I am working towards A+ certification, but I would like to learn more!