Author Topic: Code School or Just Start Small  (Read 6307 times)

melluvia

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Code School or Just Start Small
« on: April 27, 2016, 05:35:21 AM »
Before you question my inner mustachian compass in this post- just KNOW that EVERYONE I've met that graduated a coding bootcamp now makes anywhere from 60-90K with no prior experience in programming (and I've met a ton of 'em) and I have yet to meet even one developer who is self taught. That being stated I need everybody to give it to me strait.

I've been teaching myself to code for free for the past 6 months or so while staying home with my daughter, my husband's an E4 in the Army makes about 40K-

Here's the situation: My husband is getting out of the army and he wants to move to Waco (TX) while I want to move to Austin for obvious reasons (web development career) I know there's telecommuting, but I really want to work in a more team-oriented environment. The only thing is Austin is more expensive, a lot more. So here's what I'm not sure on: should we:

move to Austin so I can attend a coding bootcamp so I can automatically get a kick ass job after, but be in some debt,

move to Austin only once we both land jobs (I probably am not at the level to get a developer position right off the bat, but I could probably land a lesser-earning graphic design job and try to work my way over to web dev over time), or

just move to Waco and be financially conservative (btw my husband has greater job options in Waco but I have far less) and just try to get a telecommuting position?