Author Topic: cigarettes and gasoline: anyone made this comparison in their own mind?  (Read 24047 times)

Mesmoiselle

• Bristles
So, I'm really new to biking as an adult but the MMM reasoning for doing so has really bitten me. He likes to say getting behind the wheel is a "clown move" and that he gives himself a speech about his clownness when he gets behind the wheel for a stupid reason.

But yesterday I realized I was looking at gas prices the same way I look at cigarette prices. The way I view the latter price  signs are "I'm so glad I'm not addicted to that harmful expensive stuff and I'm healthier for it." And even though gas has been a hell of a lot cheaper lately, I still had that thought on my practice ride to work yesterday.

Just wondered if I was the only one having that particular psychological shift. Not really a question of heavy debate.

ADD ON:apparently wrong about the debate.
for one thing, I wasn't calling all drivers "addicts". My job requires I show up with no warning inside of an hour, and I timed that bike ride at 50 minutes. But I am not riding at 1 am on my bike to work. But I do eyeball my MPG and emptying tank with way more irritation than I used to and I HATE driving.

People keep comparing cost of gas to cost of food, and also the cost of time. not that everyone has a gym membership, but generally it's been implied that everyone needs more exercise than they're currently getting. The gains I see are regarding time is that I am now not driving to a gym and spending 1-2 hours there plus drive back. When it comes to food, this is something you have to consume anyway just to stay alive and you only have to eat more if you become underweight. Rice. Peanut butter, beans, and straight up vegetable oil are super cheap calories if underweight becomes an issue.