Author Topic: cheap fish tank / aquarium?  (Read 5405 times)

FLBiker

• Handlebar Stache
    • Chop Wood Carry FIRE
cheap fish tank / aquarium?
« on: August 07, 2015, 07:17:13 AM »
While biking into work today, the thought occurred to me that it would be nice to have a fish tank in my office.  Electrical costs would be covered, and it would need to be a set up that I could away from for a couple of weeks.  Is this possible for not a ton of money?  I have zero experience with fish tanks, but I've always wanted one.  Any insight / links would be appreciated.  I'm game for either fresh or salt (I assume fresh is easier / cheaper).

Thanks!

Spork

• Walrus Stache
    • Spork In The Eye
Re: cheap fish tank / aquarium?
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2015, 07:43:00 AM »
We have had several over the years -- all fresh water.  I am almost sure that every one of them was bought used off of craigslist/garage sale type situations -- and later sold the same way.

Bigger is easier than smaller.  I don't mean you need 1000 gallons... but there is a chemical/biological balance you want to get to where bacteria in the gravel is actually purifying the water.  That is easier to reach and maintain with a little more water.

We have also had 25cent feeder goldfish several times.  If you keep them long enough (and in a big enough tank), they get enormous and are really kind of a pretty fish to look at.

Blatant

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2015, 08:32:43 AM »
I LOVE fish tanks, but have found them to be an enormous time suck if you want the tanks to look good and be healthy. Not too terribly expensive if you buy used -- aside from the electricity -- but a lot of maintenance.

FLBiker

• Handlebar Stache
    • Chop Wood Carry FIRE
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2015, 08:39:05 AM »