Author Topic: Chasing credit card SUB's: how often can I apply for a new card?  (Read 717 times)

We be free if we try

• Stubble
Hi y'all, I'm fairly new to chasing credit card signup bonuses. Since May, I've applied for and received 3 new cards, 2 personal and 1 business. The SUB's are a little addictive. This is after getting one new personal card last October and becoming an authorized user on another personal card, also last October, for other reasons (but no significant SUB, alas). So 4 personal and 1 business in the last year. Very good credit (usually around 800), and one older personal card with a 20-year history. No other business cards, but the business income is only around $18k.

How often can I apply and expect to be approved without pushing my luck? Familiar with Chase 5/24, etc. but don't know the more general rules. Is it more about spacing the new cards out, or about not having too many cards or too much credit extended at a time, or all of the above?

Thanks!

bacchi

• Walrus Stache
Re: Chasing credit card SUB's: how often can I apply for a new card?
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2022, 07:13:22 PM »
It's 90% about spacing the cards out. Each bank has a more-or-less strict limit on how many of their own cards you can have but no bank cares about the total number of cards with the possible exception of Capital One. That said, I've run into some resistance at around 25 active cards from US Bank and BoA.

At 4 personal cards in the past year, you're running a little warm. Slow down a bit and wait for the offers to max out.

Catbert

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2022, 10:02:39 AM »
  https://www.doctorofcredit.com/credit-card-reference-pages/

Spend a little time at doctorofcredit.com

secondcor521

• Walrus Stache
  • Big cattle, no hat.
    • Age of Eon - Overwatch player videos
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2022, 04:43:48 PM »