Author Topic: Charitable Giving Recommendations  (Read 6101 times)

cincystache

• Bristles
Charitable Giving Recommendations
« on: December 03, 2015, 06:17:37 PM »
I'd like to give some money to charitable causes but am a little overwhelmed by all of the options out there. I'm looking for specific recommendations related to;

1. Renewable Energy
2. Poverty
3. Education
4. Other?

Does anyone have any recommendations under these categories and/or other categories? What do you think is the best way to have maximum impact when giving away money?

woopwoop

• Bristles
Re: Charitable Giving Recommendations
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2015, 06:36:32 PM »
I have been supporting the Matenwa Center in Haiti for a couple of years now. One of my friends works for them pro bono and they do remarkable things - opening schools to teach Haitian kids in their own language and building gardens to feed kids (since poor nutrition really hurts learning rates). So that would knock off #2 and #3 on your list: http://www.friendsofmatenwa.org/

johnny847

• Magnum Stache
    • My Blog
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2015, 06:41:46 PM »
What about a different approach? Instead of looking at maximum impact for your $, are there any causes in particular you feel strongly about? On a personal level, not a societal level.

Cranberries

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2015, 06:48:07 PM »
Doctors Without Borders

Jack

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2015, 07:05:28 PM »