Author Topic: vegetarian casseroles (or freezer meals)?  (Read 1905 times)

lentil

• Stubble
vegetarian casseroles (or freezer meals)?
« on: September 04, 2018, 11:20:51 AM »
It's the time of year when we repopulate the chest freezer. I usually make some big lasagna-ish pasta bakes, but would love ideas for other frozen casserole-type meals. (Vegetarian) things I can make, freeze, and then pop into the oven on some chilly autumn evening. Anyone want to share a favorite?

aetherie

• Pencil Stache
Re: vegetarian casseroles (or freezer meals)?
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2018, 12:26:02 PM »
I would love to see the responses too. I bought a chest freezer recently and can't wait to fill it up! I've never done casseroles before but I like freezing soup. One favorite is this Vegetarian Moroccan Stew.

Dianalou

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2018, 12:37:31 PM »
One I really like is a Weight Watchers recipe, but me and my husband both really like it and it freezes well:

1 spray(s) cooking spray
1 cup(s) canned yellow corn, drained, or frozen, thawed corn kernels
1 Tbsp canned green chili peppers, chopped, mild or hot
15 oz canned pinto beans, rinsed and drained
1 cup(s) long grain cooked brown rice, fresh or day old
7/8 cup(s) Mexican style blend shredded cheese
3/4 cup(s) fat free sour cream (or plain greek yogurt works great too)
1/4 tsp chili powder
1/4 tsp table salt
1/8 tsp black pepper
2 Tbsp uncooked scallion(s), chopped (dark green part only)
Instructions
Preheat oven to 350ºF. Coat a 2-quart glass baking dish with cooking spray.

In a large bowl, combine corn, chilies, beans, rice, 3/4 cup of cheese, sour cream, chili powder, salt and pepper; stir in scallions.