Author Topic: Charging to tutor a friend's teen?  (Read 8059 times)

Physicsteacher

• Pencil Stache
Charging to tutor a friend's teen?
« on: September 12, 2015, 04:59:39 PM »
How should I price my tutoring services?

A friend's daughter has been struggling mightily with algebra 2, and I spent about an hour and a half working with her last weekend because she had a 49% in the class so far and the first big test coming up. She got a 72% on the test and told her mother I was really helpful. Now they want to hire me to tutor on a regular basis, and I have no idea what to charge.

Back when I was an undergrad and dinosaurs roamed the earth, I tutored for $10/hour and was told by others in my department I was undercharging by 50%. Honestly, I enjoy working one on one with motivated students and would gladly keep doing this for free, but my friend insists on paying me.

zataks

• Bristles
Re: Charging to tutor a friend's teen?
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2015, 05:04:12 PM »
Charge a reasonable rate for your time.  Just because you get joy or satisfaction out of something doesn't mean you must or should do it for free.  You're providing a service for a willing client. 

I'd say at least $25/hour.  More depending where you are.

Anything the friend or friend's SO does that you want/need?  If you really don't want money, work for trade.  But don't take nothing for your time.

JRA64

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2015, 05:13:19 PM »
I was recently looking at tutoring sites, they pay the tutors $17 - $20 per hour after taking their cut from the top, generally at least 15%. So I think $25/hour is reasonable. Alternately, call a couple of tutoring places and ask what they would charge.

My experience: people don't value what they don't pay for. Also consider requiring 24 hour advance cancellation with partial payment for notice less than that. Last miniutes cancellations tend to be very common when someone is getting a free service.

DEL

• 5 O'Clock Shadow