Author Topic: Challenging the 50% rule  (Read 28131 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Challenging the 50% rule
« Reply #50 on: August 08, 2012, 06:10:20 PM »
Hmm... the cheap leverage I can get in the form of locking in today's low interest rates for the long term is the one thing that tips landlording into an option I'm interested in.  Without that, I would I'd need a killer deal to drop into my lap for me to be at all interested.

Exactly.  Real estate prices being super low is nice, but it's the low interest that is the real amazing part.  400 mortgage on $1000 rent.  Free cash flow plus they're buying the house for you.  How silly, and once in a lifetime, IMO. 
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

eldub

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • 4hutches.blogspot.ca
« Reply #51 on: August 09, 2012, 10:57:30 AM »
I did a bit of scribbling last night trying to put numbers to the two different scenarios. Again, the question is not really whether to go for this property. I already have it, the question is what to do with it. When it's time to leave, will be be better off (long game) keeping our current home as a rental or sell and move on.

I'd guess this won't happen for at least 5 years, maybe even 10 or more.  I came to the conclusion last night that given our timeframe, there are simply too many unknowns: future interest rates, future salary, future value of this house and the next house, rise in rents, inflation. I can try to estimate each of these given historical trends, but in the end I just didn't have any confidence in my final numbers.